Minneapolis Neighborhood Revitalization Policy Board

MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF

January 27, 2003

Present and Voting:

Ron Ravensborg, Cam Gordon, Carol Pass, Nicholas Kakos, Peter McLaughlin, Gail Dorfman, R.T. Rybak, Paul Ostrow, John Erwin (Alternate for Park Board), Joanne Walz (Alternate for Emmett Carson), and Diane Hofstede, chair, presiding

Alternates Attending:

Julia Burman, Zachary Korb, Debbie Evans, Barret Lane

Absent:

Mark Stenglein, Rep. Joe Mullery, Bob Fine, Sharon Henry-Blythe, Emmett Carson, James Colville, Bill McCarthy, Angela Sterns

Staff:

Bob Miller, Carsten Slostad

Others Present:

Jeff Schneider, Lee Sheehy, Gary Arntsen, Tammy Omdal, Steve Brandt

I. CALL TO ORDER

Diane Hofstede, chair, called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m. in Conference Room C-2350 in the Hennepin County Government Center.

II. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Upon a motion by Joanne Walz and seconded by Julia Burman the agenda was adopted.

III. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Upon a motion by R.T. Rybak and seconded by Paul Ostrow the minutes of the December 23, 2002 meeting were adopted.

IV. POLICY ITEMS

1. Appointment of a Nominating Committee

Diane Hofstede, chair, informed Policy Board Members that she would appoint a nominating committee to provide a slate of officers for election at the next Policy Board meeting.

2. Amendment to NRP Audit Policy

[NRP / PR#2003-01]

Bob Miller presented two proposed revisions to the Audit Policy adopted in 1997 and amended in 2001. The first would increase the threshold for requiring an audit from \$50,000 to \$100,000 of NRP funds during the organization's fiscal year. The other would make the individual neighborhood financially responsible for audit costs if they do not respond to information questions in a timely manner.

Upon a motion by Peter McLaughlin and seconded by Ron Ravensborg the following resolution was adopted.

RESOLVED: That the proposed revisions of the NRP audit policy be distributed to the neighborhoods for review and comment; and,

RESOLVED FURTHER: That staff should explore other less costly alternatives for the performance of the audit function that would reduce the costs while maintaining oversight on the financial integrity of the neighborhoods in the NRP process.

V. <u>ACTION ITEMS</u>

1. Hennepin County "Second 7.5%" for Ventura Village [NRP / FR#2003-01]

Upon a motion by Peter McLaughlin and seconded by Joanne Walz the following resolution was adopted contingent upon final approval by the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners.

RESOLVED: That the Minneapolis Neighborhood Revitalization Policy Board hereby approves the use of up to \$58,100 of Hennepin County's "Second 7.5%" NRP funds to support Ventura Village's portion of funding for the Franklin Avenue Safety Center in the Phillips Neighborhood for five years (2003-2007).

2. Hennepin County "Second 7.5%" for Webber Camden [NRP / FR#2003-02]

Upon a motion by Peter McLaughlin and seconded by Paul Ostrow the following resolution was adopted.

RESOLVED: That the Minneapolis Neighborhood Revitalization Policy Board hereby approves the use of up to \$9,700 of previously allocated Hennepin County "Second 7.5%" NRP funds to support a Senior Chore Service in the Webber Camden Neighborhood.

Minutes of the Policy Board January 27, 2003 Page 3

VI. PRESENTATIONS & REPORTS

1. Minneapolis Five Year Financial Direction Presentation

Mayor R.T. Rybak introduced the topic to the Policy Board and then introduced Tammy Omdahl, budget director for the City of Minneapolis. She presented the Finance Department's Five Year Financial Direction report. During the presentation Policy Board members were able to ask questions and several members took the opportunity to express their concerns and policy positions.

2. "Focus Minneapolis" Working Group Status Group

Bob Miller reported that the group is continuing to meet and will finish their work before the next Policy Board meeting. Their report will be presented at that time.

VII. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 6:35 p.m.	
	Carsten Slostad, Secretary Pro Tem
ATTEST: Diane Hofstede, Chair	